Ginger to the Rescue

Posted on

February 24

Today I stopped at Hy-Vee and bought out their ginger candy isle.   I had been contemplating lunch and realized that if I didn’t do something about my sad, sad tummy I would probably skip lunch like I did yesterday–and that’s not good for anyone.  So, here is what I got:

Newman’s Own Ginger Mints

These are the only ones I’ve tried so far, and I gotta say I’m pretty happy about them.  They taste pretty much like straight up ginger, but I like ginger so that’s a plus.  I sucked on one from Hy-vee to Pancheros (about a block) and by the time I was in line for my tacos my tummy decided it was hungry!  On my way out I popped another one and I didn’t get my usual after food yuckies either.  So, yay!

I have not needed to test these yet, since the Newman’s were so effective.  I think I’ll use one a day all scientific like and report back my findings.

The Ginger People’s Gin Gins

These are much less GINGER than the Newman’s, more candy-like.  I still like them though.  They are a sucky-candy and come in individual wrappers, which will make them easy to put in pockets and take with me.  I’m sure Max will get a kick out of them, he loves playing with candies in wrappers.

The Ginger People’s Ginger Chews

I really like these.  They seem to have a much stronger bite than the other two, but that could be because they are chewed instead of sucked.  They are a soft, sort of caramel-like texture and are just the right amount of chewy to firm.  Num num num.  Also individually wrapped and easy to take along.   I don’t know if I’ll have these with me too often though, I think I might be more inclined to just snack on them rather than use them therapeutically.  With 20 calories per chew they are among the most caloric of the options, so it might be best to save them for special uses.

Reeds Crystallized Ginger

You really don’t get much more basic than this–just ginger and sugar.  I already knew I would like this so I got it, even though it’s not individually wrapped.  I guess I could keep it in a baggie to carry around with me, but I could also make it my “at home” remedy too.   A couple in bed right before I get up would probably help me through the morning.  Yes…good idea me!

What I had originally gone to the store looking for was:

Reeds Ginger Chews

Dan and I have been known to make a trip to New Pi in Iowa City to bring back cases of this stuff.   I was all set to bemoan Hy-Vee no longer carrying it, but then I tasted the Ginger People chews.  I think I’ll live.  🙂

Arrite, I guess that’s that.  I totally forgot I had potroast waiting for me until I was leaving work and trying to think of what to cook.  When I got home the smell just hit me—mmmmmmmmm!  Can’t wait until Dan gets home so we can EAT!

Leave a comment